jump to navigation

Travel Tips for the New Business Grad June 30, 2006

Posted by Amanda in The Job Maze.
trackback

Travel is a part of business life these days and I’ve certainly schleped my stuff to the airport and back a few times. Here are some little gems of wisdom that I’ve found in my travels.

Pack clothes that do not wrinkle. Polyester blends, wool blends, microfibers, silk, and rayon are things to look for. Avoid 100% cotton or linen! Bring one suit and several pieces to change its look. Men can wear the same suit with varying color shirts and ties. Ladies can create several different outfits from a three piece suit and a few blouses to rotate underneath. Mix and Match to save on laundry.

Ladies, if you’re wearing pantyhose, include a small bottle of clear nail polish in your travel kit. It really is the best thing for runs. If you pop a button, most hotels have a small sewing kit. Tide to go pens work well if you’re prone to stains.

Carry on your important documents, toiletries, medications, and one change of clothes in case your luggage gets lost. Also, Keep a spare credit card somewhere safe and other than your wallet. You do not want to be stranded. I recommend that you have a card just for emergencies.

When flying never check your laptop with your luggage, even if you don’t plan on using it during flight. I’ve seen baggage handlers toss luggage from the cart to the conveyer belt. I wouldn’t trust my laptop to withstand it, and I wouldn’t recommend you try it either.

Get sturdy hard-sided luggage, with reinforced sides. Pay special attention to wheels and handles to make sure they are sturdy and well built. Also, look for luggage that is weather proof. You never know what could happen!

Take your own Ethernet cable with you. If a hotel has internet, it usually has a cable, but it could be broken or missing thanks to the last guest. Also, don’t rely on your hotel having free internet. I always stick a short one into my laptop bag.

Carry a lot of business cards and keep them somewhere accessible. You can meet a lot of people on airplanes, plus you never know if you’ll be meeting new business contacts.
Buy a small travel alarm, or you can use your cell phone. Most hotels have wakeup calls, and I use them, but you don’t want to rely on them. Always have a backup!

I hope these tips will help make your travels easier! If you have any to add, feel free to post a comment.

Sources for some of the tips: Sideroad Silicon.com

TAGS: ; ; ;

Comments»

1. business travel tips - January 15, 2008

I definitely agree with the carrying lots of business cards suggestion. This has helped be no end. In fact whenever I am out on business even just getting a sandwich, I ensure that I have a supply because I’ve made a number of important contacts just like that.

2. Arwan Smith - April 13, 2011

Every time i visit here, the’re always a good topic, thanks making excellent post.
Thanks from Transferring Credit Card Balances


Leave a Reply

