jump to navigation

Investment or Black Hole? September 1, 2006

Posted by Amanda in New Squeaks.
Tags: ,
trackback

I’ve been debating joining a short, winter intersession, Study Abroad trip to Austria and Hungary, but I have to wonder, how much pull does international travel actually have on employers?  Is paying for a trip like this an investment in my future career, or is it simple a whim for entertainment.

Studyabroaddirectory says: “International experience is ranked high among many employers as a critical asset for prospective employees. Study abroad shows that you are resourceful, adventurous, internationally minded, and diverse.”  Where did they get these results?  Did they survey employers?  Did they track the careers of those who Study abroad against those who didn’t?

As I’m debating the pros and cons of a trip like this, I would love to get some feedback from the readers.  What do you think?  Do employers really care if you have been abroad or not?

Comments»

1. Chris - September 14, 2006

I have yet to actually have an employer who cared that I lived/worked in Australia for three years. But, the experience itself has given me a slightly different perspective of American culture as well as some experiences my peers haven’t had, and I can say for sure that feels like it has helped my career.

So, while you might not put it on your resume, it can’t hurt. Today’s markets are world markets, despite the selfish attitude most US Consumers and Companies have. Having actually experienced that will help you some day, even if the company it helps doesn’t care you had the experience.

Just come back…


Leave a Reply

