jump to navigation

Book Review: The World Is Flat June 24, 2008

Posted by Amanda in Business Tails.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

The World Is Flat

The World is Flat

The World is Flat, written by Thomas L. Friedman, is one of the books on my shelf not by choice of my own.  It was assigned reading during one of my undergraduate classes at the University of Missouri – Columbia.  Although I loved the class and enjoyed debating about E-Commerce with my professor, this assigned reading was the least enjoyable part of the class (despite its best-seller status).

In this book, I feel Friedman oversimplifies the changes that have occured in the 21st Century.  By his reckoning the world has become a level playing field for commerce.  While, yes, the advancements in communication and outsourcing have blurred the lines, I would not describe commerce as completely flat.  The likes of Walmart and Amazon see to that.

Overall I found this book extremely boring and would NOT recommend it, unless you need a bit of nighttime reading that will really put you to sleep.

Available at Macmillan for 16.00.

Rating: Pawprint

Comments»

1. John - February 21, 2010

Thanks, very interesting note.

2. seo google - June 29, 2012

fantastic site 🙂 I’m happy I stumbled onto it through google. gonna need to add this one to the list


Leave a Reply

